6 January 2019

Here’s an idea for a New Year’s resolution – do your bit to put Swindon at the forefront of the fight against catastrophic climate change.

Since November, when I wrote to all Swindon Borough councillors asking them to support a motion to declare a climate emergency in Swindon, things have slowly been moving in the right direction.

Thank you to those who have already been in touch with their councillors. Because of you, councillors from each of the parties on the council - Conservative, Labour and Liberal Democrat, have offered their support, and it will be debated by the Council on the 24th of January. But there is more to do to make sure we get enough votes for this to pass.

If you haven’t already done so, please contact your local councillors and ask them to support the motion when it comes before council?

Below is a sample letter and contact details for your councillors. You can find out which ward you are in by entering your post code here.

For some more information, you can find out more about my original letter to them or see a copy of the draft motion.

The 24th is close, so please get in touch with them as soon as you can and let them know how important this is. If you get a response, please let me know what they say so I know who we still need to convince.

Also, please consider coming along to show your support in the public gallery on the night. This could be a landmark date in Swindon's history.

The seas are rising, and so must we.

Andy Bentley

 

Sample Letter:

(If you can personalise this, even better)

Dear councillor,

Will you help me put Swindon at the forefront of the fight against catastrophic climate change?

I’d like to enlist your support for a motion that will be debated at the next Council meeting on the 24th of January, which has already received offers of support from members of each of the three parties on the Council.

At his recent address to the United Nations, Sir David Attenborough said that climate change is humanity's greatest threat in thousands of years, which could lead to the collapse of civilisations and the extinction of "much of the natural world".

He spoke following the latest report from the IPCC, in which the world’s scientists again described the enormous harm that rising temperatures is likely to cause.

The motion will recognise the serious threat that global warming poses, not only to faraway places or in many years to come but to the UK, in our lifetimes.

According to the UK Government, even if global temperature increases are limited to 2°C or less, there are projected to be impacts for the UK. More flooding in wet periods, more droughts in dry periods, and thousands more premature heat-related deaths every year.

The IPCC report also tells us that limiting global warming to 1.5°C may still be possible with urgent and immediate action from national and local governments, civil society, the private sector and local communities.

The consequences of global temperature rising above 1.5°C are so severe that preventing this from happening must be humanity’s number one priority, but individuals cannot do this on their own.

City and Town Councils around the world are responding to the climate crisis by committing to the changes needed to make low-carbon living the new norm.

The motion will recognise the vision of Swindon as the home to low-carbon employment and R&D as set out in our Local Plan 2026, along with its focus on sustainable energy.

Swindon should be in the vanguard of the transition to a zero-carbon economy, delivering economic benefits to Swindon in terms of new jobs and market opportunities.

The motion will call on the Council to declare a ‘Climate Emergency’, and to set an ambitious target to make the borough of Swindon carbon neutral.

It will recognise the need for new powers and resources from central government, and for the Council to work with national and regional governments and local partners to make it possible.

It will call on the Leader of the Council to draw up a plan of action for the Council to address this emergency.

Please support the motion coming to the Council meeting on January 24th. We are the first generation to fully understand the consequences of global warming, and the last who have the chance to prevent the coming global catastrophe.

I hope I can count on you.

 

 

 Councillor Contact Details:

 

Ward

Name

 Email 

Blunsdon & Highworth

Councillor Alan Bishop

ABishop2@swindon.gov.uk

Councillor Maureen Penny

maureen.penny2@btinternet.com  

Councillor Steve Weisinger

sweisinger@swindon.gov.uk  

Central

Councillor Bob Wright

Bob.Wright.Gov@ntlworld.com

Councillor Julie Wright

juliecaseworker@hotmail.co.uk  

Councillor Junab Ali

jali@swindon.gov.uk  

Chiseldon & Lawn

Councillor Brian Mattock

BMattock@swindon.gov.uk

Councillor Fionuala Foley

ffoley@swindon.gov.uk  

Covingham & Dorcan

Councillor Barbara Parry

barbara.parry5@gmail.com  

Councillor Dale Heenan

dale.heenan@googlemail.com  

Councillor Kevin Parry

cllrkevin.parry@ntlworld.com  

Eastcott

Councillor Imtiyaz Shaikh

IShaikh@swindon.gov.uk  

Councillor Paul Dixon

p.dixon8@ntlworld.com  

Councillor Stan Pajak

spajak@swindon.gov.uk  

Gorsehill & Pinehurst

Councillor Carol Shelley

CShelley@swindon.gov.uk  

Councillor John Ballman

Jballman@swindon.gov.uk  

Councillor Ray Ballman

Rballman@swindon.gov.uk  

Haydon Wick

Councillor David Renard

drenard@swindon.gov.uk  

Councillor Garry Perkins

electricalcontrolproducts@gmail.com  

Councillor Oliver Donachie

oliver.donachie@gmail.com  

Liden, Eldene & Park South

Councillor Chris Watts

cllrchriswatts@outlook.com  

Councillor Fay Howard

Fhoward@swindon.gov.uk  

Councillor Janine Howarth

JHowarth@swindon.gov.uk  

Lydiard & Freshbrook

Councillor Caryl Sydney-Smith

CSydney-Smith@swindon.gov.uk  

Councillor Matthew Courtliff

Mcourtliff2@swindon.gov.uk  

Councillor Timothy Swinyard

timswin@hotmail.com  

Mannington & Western

Councillor James Robbins

robbins.james@gmail.com  

Councillor Kevin Small

Ksmall@swindon.gov.uk  

Councillor Stephanie Exell

Steph.Exell@sky.com  

Old Town

Councillor Claire Ellis

claireellis@hotmail.co.uk  

Councillor Jane Milner-Barry

Jmilner-Barry2@swindon.gov.uk  

Councillor Nadine Watts

nadine.watts@live.co.uk  

Penhill & Upper Stratton

Councillor Claire Crilly

CCrilly@swindon.gov.uk   

Councillor Mark Dempsey

mark@markdempsey.org.uk  

Councillor Teresa Page

Tpage@swindon.gov.uk   

Priory Vale

Councillor Emma Faramarzi

efaramarzi@swindon.gov.uk  

Councillor Malcolm Davies

MDavies2@swindon.gov.uk  

Councillor Toby Elliott

cllrtoby@outlook.com  

Ridgeway

Councillor Gary Sumner

GSumner2@swindon.gov.uk  

Rodbourne Cheney

Councillor Des Moffatt

dmoffatt@swindon.gov.uk  

Councillor Jim Grant

grantji@swindon.gov.uk  

Councillor Peter Watts

peterwattsrodbournecheney@live.co.uk  

Shaw

Councillor Keith Williams

KRWilliams@swindon.gov.uk  

Councillor Mary Martin

mmartin@swindon.gov.uk  

Councillor Nick Martin

Martin.family12@outlook.com  

St Andrews

Councillor Mary Friend

MaryFriend@waitrose.com  

Councillor Rahul Tarar

RTarar@swindon.gov.uk  

Councillor Vera Tomlinson

vtomlinson@swindon.gov.uk  

St Margaret & South Marston

Councillor John Haines

JHaines2@swindon.gov.uk  

Councillor Roger Smith

RSmith@swindon.gov.uk  

Councillor Russell Holland

rholland@swindon.gov.uk  

Walcot & Park North

Councillor Abdul Amin

aamin@swindon.gov.uk  

Councillor Emma Bushell

EmmaBushell@yahoo.co.uk  

Councillor Steve Allsopp

jean.norris1@ntlworld.com  

Wroughton & Wichelstowe

Councillor Andy Spry

ASpry@swindon.gov.uk  

Councillor Brian Ford

bjf.ford1@gmail.com 

Councillor Cathy Martyn

CMartyn2@swindon.gov.uk